Using genset exhaust for drying

Engines running with woodgas. Proven and also concept engines.
Motoren die mit Holzgas betrieben werden - Erfolgreiche Umsetzungen als auch Konzepte.
Antworten
crimson

Using genset exhaust for drying

Beitrag von crimson »

Hello everybody.
This is my first post in this forum. :DG
Has anyone ever tried to use the genset exhaust to dry e.g. woodchips in a dryer(e.g. rotary or linear type)?
According to my calculations, for a woodgas that contains 20% H2 the exhaust will contain ~10% of its mass water.(basic chemistry equations for woodgas burn)
If you use a 100 kw genset running 100% on woodgas you will have about 560-580 kgr/hour of exhaust gas at about 400 oC(turbocharged gas genset).
So, you must anticipate about 56-58 kgr/hour of water in your exhaust.
I am not an expert in engines and gensets in general, but does has anyone know if this can work for drying?
Is there a way to get rid of the water from the exhaust?
Keep in mind that the genset exhaust stream can be diluted with ambient air in about 50%-50% or 40%-60% so the final temperature may be ~150 oC.
Regards
Dimitris
Pascal Kirchner
Site Admin
Re: Using genset exhaust for drying

Beitrag von Pascal Kirchner »

Hi Dimitris
This is my first post in this forum. :DG
You are welcome. :DG
Has anyone ever tried to use the genset exhaust to dry e.g. woodchips in a dryer(e.g. rotary or linear type)?
According to my calculations, for a woodgas that contains 20% H2 the exhaust will contain ~10% of its mass water.(basic chemistry equations for woodgas burn)
If you use a 100 kw genset running 100% on woodgas you will have about 560-580 kgr/hour of exhaust gas at about 400 oC(turbocharged gas genset).
So, you must anticipate about 56-58 kgr/hour of water in your exhaust.
I am not an expert in engines and gensets in general, but does has anyone know if this can work for drying?
Is there a way to get rid of the water from the exhaust?